Medical Negligence Diary – My Breast was injured in a Breast Assessment Centre

Above is a video about trauma. If you know of any trauma videos regarding when you are a victim of medical negligence let me know. I cant find any. This is one about being a victim of an accident.

Six months on from going to a breast assessment and I am still in agony. Searing stabbing, stinging, burning pain in breast. If you read my previous posts they detail I had no history of breast problems. I sustained an injury with a member of medical staff injured me by plunging a needle into my breast without anaesthetic and despite me trying to halt this as I had no prior awareness this would be done and did not want it. She used force and twisted it. She burst a blood vessel it seems as the area then proceeded to fill with blood. She then had to insert needle again to drain blood and created a hematoma in breast.

As detailed before this has caused me intense physical pain and deep psychological trauma. It is what is know as a triple assessment something I had never heard of. I had no info of this from doctor, from nurse, from hospital letter or when I went in. The first I learnt of this surgical procedure was when there was a needle at my breast. I am now more taumatised as the lady that did this is denying the event and her peers have closed ranks. Worse the hospital I was referred to has discharged me after I complained as the same consultant in charge works there.

Rather than helping me with my pain they are more interested in protecting egos and reputations and villianising the victim for daring to complain. I have to. It is the most violent act I have ever experienced in my life. And by far the most excruciatingly painful. I need HELP. But I am exasperated trying to get it. Here is what I would like.

-An ultrasound scan without the needle to see what damage is in my breasts
-Someone independent to examine me
-The first hospital to tell me honestly what that woman did to me
-To tell me how this will affect my future health – best case and worst case
-The second hospital to confirm their findings in the scan they took photos of
-To get to the pain clinic asap as they are not taking my pain seriously at all
-To be given advice on how to heal
-For someone to explain why I am in agony after this
-For someone to realise that medical professionals tell lies
-To get physiotherapy as I now have shoulder pain
-To get massage therapy on the breast if this will help me heal
-To get urgent trauma counselling with an empathetic person to help me get over the shock of this

The terror is made worse because when I phone up and complain of pain and emotional distress this is causing me. They do not write that I have been a victim of medical negligence. They write, breast pain, emotional issues. I had ZERO breast pain until the hospital plunged a metal object into my breast.

Today I have been curled up in bed as I am in deep trauma and cannot function. I am going to try and make a smoothie. When you are a victim of a violent crime the police come and you can make a statement and hopefully the person that did it is arrested. When you are a victim of domestic violence there is a helpline and organisations. When you are a victim of MEDICAL crime there is NOWHERE to go.

Considering it affects 1 in 10 people and that it is one of the biggest killers on the planet there should be somewhere to go when this happens to you there isn’t. I recommend by the way that if this happens to you, you request a copy of your medical records straight away. I am in the process of doing this. I have already seen one letter and it is not an accurate outline of events.

Medical Ethics does not exist. Just in theory. Not in practice. To them I am small fry. They have done worse things than this to women’s breasts. I would love to forget about this but the constant stabbing pain means I cannot. I am shamed for my pain with people saying. No. You should not be sore now. It looks fine on the outside now. The wound is internal. Like I said the biggest mistake of my life was going into the hospital that day. It has ruined my life. Because this physical pain is relentless. And I am in deep trauma.

I need an advocate. But am drowning in despair. How many women have had a breast injured in a routine assessment? Get in touch if you have. I am already starting to hear about people sucked into a surgical loop just from going to this screening thing. As yet I don’t know if they have inserted a titanium marker. I really hope not. From all the research I have done this sounds like nerve damage.

The least they can do is tell me what they have done. Honestly if there was a centre where I could check in and get all the help for this I would. Anywhere in the world. But no surgery. I am so annoyed a surgery was forced on me when I have never wanted surgery in my life. But as far as the people that did this are concerned. I am the problem.

I found the above video on trauma. He got help as a woman was there to hold his hand. And obviously had medical help. It’s still good to listen to. I left the hospital the day this was done dazed and they had given me no aftercare leaflet and no painkillers. The next day the consultant in charge phoned me and told me it was like a bruise on the leg was a complication I would have been aware of and the he would perform 2 more breast surgeries on me. Obviously I did not go back! But he is making my life very difficult in regards to me being taken seriously on this matter.

The problem with medical negligence is there is not only no-one there to hold your hand,  doors are closed in your face and nobody wants to deal with it. You are alone in your pain and your trauma. And worse, the medical establishment as they do not want to be held liable for a mistake will lie and in fact see you as a problem. These are people that have access to your medical records. It’s a truly horrific experience.

Entering the hospital that day has shattered my universe.

If anyone can recommend any videos on healing from medical negligence and the trauma of this, please comment or message me.

 

Leave a comment